Permitted Winter Service Providers

The road between Gardiner, Mammoth Hot Springs, and the Northeast Entrance/Cooke City is plowed year-round and open to the public.

In winter, a number of other Yellowstone roads are open only for snowcoach and snowmobile touring between December 15 and March 15, (weather and snow conditions permitting). The East Entrance will open December 22 and close March 1 for snowmobile and snowcoach travel. Travel over Sylvan Pass on the East Entrance Road will be subject to avalanche-related safety delays and closures.

Visitors wishing to visit the park on a snowmobile or in a snowcoach must either travel by commercial snowcoach or accompany a commercial guide on snowmobiles. Best Available Technology snowmobiles are required, and there is a daily limit on snowmobile and snowcoach entries. Off-road use of snowmobiles and snowcoaches is prohibited.

The tables below list businesses which were permitted to provide specialized winter services, including snowcoach service and snowmobile guide service and rentals, in Yellowstone for the winter season. The businesses are organized alphabetically by entrance to the park. A commercial business permit is required to guide trips in Yellowstone National Park.

This page does not include many other non-winter permitted businesses as itemized on NPS website Services page. Unless otherwise noted, the activities are guided.

Please Note: Road groomers maintain a ski trail that parallels the road from the West Entrance to Madison to Old Faithful. Snowmobile riders and snowcoach operators should be aware that they may encounter cross country skiers near these road segments.

Authorized Snowmobile and Snowcoach Tour Companies

The following companies are authorized to provide snowmobile and snowcoach tours in Yellowstone.

Backcountry Adventureshttp://backcountry-adventures.com800-924-7669Old Faithful Snowcoach ShuttleWest
Backcountry Adventureshttp://backcountry-adventures.com800-924-7669Snowmobile and Snowcoach ToursWest
Gary Fales Outfittinghttp://garyfalesoutfitting.com307-587-3970Snowmobile ToursEast
Old Faithful Snowmobile Tourshttp://snowmobilingtours.com800-253-7130Snowmobile ToursSouth
Scenic Safarishttp://scenic-safaris.com888-734-8898Snowmobile and Snowcoach ToursSouth
Scenic Safarishttp://scenic-safaris.com888-734-8898Old Faithful Snowcoach ShuttleSouth
See Yellowstone Alpen Guideshttp://seeyellowstone.com800-221-1151Snowcoach ToursWest
Teton Science Schoolhttp://tetonscience.org307-733-1313Snowcoach ToursSouth
Teton Valley Adventures LLChttp://tetonvalleyadventures.com208-354-2233Snowmobile ToursWest
Two Top Snowmobile Rental, Inchttp://yellowstonevacations.com/guided-tours/two-top-snowmobile-tours406-646-7802Snowmobile ToursWest
Yellowstone Expeditionshttp://yellowstoneexpeditions.com800-728-9333Snowmobile ToursWest
Yellowstone National Park Lodgeshttp://yellowstonenationalparklodges.com307-344-7311Snowcoach ToursNorth
Yellowstone Vacation Tourshttp://yellowstonevacations.com/guided-tours800-426-7669Snowmobile and Snowcoach ToursWest
Yellowstone Vacation Tourshttp://yellowstonevacations.com/guided-tours800-426-7669Snowmobile and Snowcoach ToursNorth

Guided Skiing and Snowshoeing

These businesses are authorized to offer guided skiing and snowshoeing tours in Yellowstone.
A Naturalists Worldhttp://tracknature.com406-223-1579
Adventure Travel West Tours Inchttp://at-west.com303-697-6688
Adventure Yellowstone Inchttp://al-park-tours.com406-585-9041
Animals Abound LLChttp://theanimalsabound.com307-200-9302
Appalachian Mountain Clubhttp://outdorrs.org207-775-1221
Austin Adventures Inchttp://austinadventures.com406-655-4591
Backroads Inchttp://backroads.com510-527-1889
Beartooth Powder Guideshttp://beartoothpowder.com406-539-1478
Big Sky Adventures %26 Tourshttp://bigskyadventuretours.com406-451-1650
Big Sky Backcountry Guideshttp://bigskybackcountry.com406-581-5754
In Our Nature Guiding Services LLChttp://in-our-nature.com406-579-3838
Lamar Valley Touringhttp://lamarvalleytouring.com406-321-3167
Lone Mountain Ranch Inchttp://lonemountainranch.com800-514-4644
Montana Alpine Guides Inchttp://mtalpine.com406-586-8430
Montana Mountaineeringhttp://montanamountaineering.org406-522-0659
National Outdoor Leadership Schools-NOLShttp://nols.edu307-332-1425
Natural Habitat Adventures Inchttp://nathab.com303-449-3711
Off the Beaten Pathhttp://offthebeatenpath.com888-287-7354
Rockin HK Outfittershttp://rockinhk.com406-333-4933
Safari Yellowstonehttp://safariyellowstone.com406-222-8557
Sage Lodgehttp://sagelodge.com855-400-0505
Six Points Avalanche Educationhttp://avalancheclass.com406-813-1893
The Wildland Trekking Company LLChttp://wildlandtrekking.com800-715-4453
Timberline BH Adventureshttp://timberline-adventures.com800-417-2453
Trailbound Trips Inchttp://trailboundtrips.com847-707-9377
Walking Shadow Ecology Tours of Yellowstonehttp://yellowstone.education406-223-5967
Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schoolshttp://wildlifeexpeditions.org307-733-2623
Yellowstone Adventure Tourshttp://adventuretoursofyellowstone.com661-808-5622
Yellowstone Guidelines LLChttp://yellowstoneguidelines.com406-599-2960
Yellowstone National Park Lodgeshttp://yellowstonenationalparklodges.com307-344-7311
Yellowstone Safari Co.http://yellowstonesafari.com406-586-1155
Yellowstone Ski Tours LLChttp://yellowstoneskitours.com406-855-7107
Yellowstone Tour Guideshttp://yellowstonetourguides.com406-995-2399
Yellowstone Wild, LLChttp://yellowstonewildtours.com406-224-0001
Yellowstone Wolf Tracker (The Wild Side)http://wolftracker.com406-223-2152
Zephyr Adventureshttp://zephradventures.com888-758-8687
Backcountry Adventureshttp://backcountry-adventures.com800-924-7669Old Faithful Snowcoach ShuttleWest
Backcountry Adventureshttp://backcountry-adventures.com800-924-7669Snowmobile and Snowcoach ToursWest
Gary Fales Outfittinghttp://garyfalesoutfitting.com307-587-3970Snowmobile ToursEast
Old Faithful Snowmobile Tourshttp://snowmobilingtours.com800-253-7130Snowmobile ToursSouth
Scenic Safarishttp://scenic-safaris.com888-734-8898Snowmobile and Snowcoach ToursSouth
Scenic Safarishttp://scenic-safaris.com888-734-8898Old Faithful Snowcoach ShuttleSouth
See Yellowstone Alpen Guideshttp://seeyellowstone.com800-221-1151Snowcoach ToursWest
Teton Science Schoolhttp://tetonscience.org307-733-1313Snowcoach ToursSouth
Teton Valley Adventures LLChttp://tetonvalleyadventures.com208-354-2233Snowmobile ToursWest
Two Top Snowmobile Rental, Inchttp://yellowstonevacations.com/guided-tours/two-top-snowmobile-tours406-646-7802Snowmobile ToursWest
Yellowstone Expeditionshttp://yellowstoneexpeditions.com800-728-9333Snowmobile ToursWest
Yellowstone National Park Lodgeshttp://yellowstonenationalparklodges.com307-344-7311Snowcoach ToursNorth
Yellowstone Vacation Tourshttp://yellowstonevacations.com/guided-tours800-426-7669Snowmobile and Snowcoach ToursWest
Yellowstone Vacation Tourshttp://yellowstonevacations.com/guided-tours800-426-7669Snowmobile and Snowcoach ToursNorth